Posted on

A1 – Pillars of Islam

The Messenger of Allah صلى الله عليه وسلم stated that Islam is based on five (things)

Hadith Reported by Bukhari and Muslim

Pillars of Islam

The Pillars of Islam are five:

  1. The Shahaadah (testimony)  لا إله إلا الله محمد رسول الله (None has the right to be worshipped but Allah, and Muhammed صلى الله عليه وسلم is the messenger of Allah)
  2. Iqaamat-as-Salaat – To offer the compulsory prayers properly and punctually
  3. To pay Zakaat – Zakat is mandatory charity. When a Muslim owns 85 grams of gold or its equivalent in cash, 2.5% must be paid after possessing this quantity for a year. Zakat is also due on other forms of property.
  4. Hajj – The greater pilgrimage to the House of Allah in Makkah for whoever is able to do so
  5. Sawm – Fasting during the month of Ramadan, It is to abstain from the start of dawn until sunset from food, drink and everything else which breaks the fast.

Answer the following:

Q1. How many are the Pillars of Islam?
Ans. The Pillars of Islam are five

Q2. Name the Pillars of Islam?
Ans. 1. Shahadah – 2. Compulsory Prayer – 3. Zakat – 4. Hajj and 5. Sawm. 

Q3. How many are the compulsory prayers and what are they?
Ans. The compulsory prayers are five, they are 1. Fajr – 2. Dhuhr – 3. Asr – 4. Maghrib and 5. Ishaa

Q4. When is Zakaat compulsory for a Muslim?
Ans. When a Muslim owns 85 grams of gold or its equivalent in cash Zakaat becomes compulsory for him. 

Q5. For whom is Hajj compulsory?
Ans. Hajj is compulsory for those Muslims who are able to do so with their health and wealth. 

Q6. In which month do Muslims fast?
Ans. Muslims fast during the month of Ramadan. 

Download Free Accounting Software